Hey Joe, What’s Teroldego?

If you know me, you know that I can get bored rather easily….I don’t like to stay within the lines, I live to break out and do things differently. This is one of the reasons that I choose varietals that aren’t so well known; in fact some of my favorites are varietals that are hard to tame!

This year I pulled a few new varietals out of my hat. One such is Teraldego, an extremely rare grape that we grow at 2800 feet atop our Upper Ridge Vineyard in the new Pine Mountain/Cloverdale Peak AVA.  It is an Italian varietal that is grown primarily in Northern Italy.

Imagery Winery Teroldego

Teraldego makes a wine that is full bodied with dark black fruit. The aromas are accentuated with spice and blackberries. When you drink this wine, you notice the wonderful texture which takes over your mouth. Deeply hued inky-purple in color, our Teraldego has extremely balanced tannins. In fact, this is one of my favorite wines this year. It’s not easy to find anywhere, and I only make 7 barrels of this mind blowing wine, so get it while you can!

Imagery’s Teraldego will be released and ready for your enjoyment in July, stay tuned for a release date!

Check back for my next rare varietal update – Tannat.

–    Joe Benziger

 

Leave a Reply

